Pretending Like you know someting *DOES NOT* mean you actually know it…You might just be insane

I wish I knew a foreign language. After three years of French one, I still do not have the slightest handle on the French language, and can’t interpret more then Je ne se pas (I don’t know). And yet…I find myself reading posts in different languages as if I know what they mean, and even watching film festival movies and laughing along with them as if I could possibly know what they are talking about. My family of course gives me strange looks, but I blame it on being artistic. It’s not so much the words that matter to me, you can tell someone’s mood and meaning without any words at all, words simply make it easier. Apparently in Die Hard Hans Gruber’s German lines were often grammatically incorrect and he several times just made up stuff when he couldn’t remember how to pronounce things, so he obviously isn’t too great with languages either. I’ve always admired Alan Rickman’s artistic abilities, therefore I consider myself not weird and slightly insane, but simply a very artistic person. I might not know a foreign language, but I do an amazing job at pretending like I do!

About Everyrosehasathorn

So I have finished my first book, Every Rose Has a Thorn, which is available on amazon for free if you have an amazon prime membership, or 2.99 otherwise. http://www.amazon.com/Every-Rose-Thorn-Sierra-Halnsoy-ebook/dp/B00EZ8I8VQ/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1406262459&sr=8-2&keywords=every+rose+has+a+thorn This is a book about Emily Rose who is drawn into a battle between angels that want to not only destroy the world and human race, but for some reason want her on their side when they do it! She must learn that doing what is right isn't always easy, especially when you fall in love with a very dangerous angel! View all posts by Everyrosehasathorn

13 responses to “Pretending Like you know someting *DOES NOT* mean you actually know it…You might just be insane

  • treewithroots

    Hilarious! Way to go, everyrosehasathorn, just keep being creative and funny and you’ll do just fine!

  • READREID

    This is funny because I’m on a international lesbian fandom tour, for no other reason than I’ve exhausted all the material in the U.S. I often come across stuff on youtube that doesn’t have English subs and I watch anyway. And you’re right, while the words are helpful, they aren’t integral. Being in love looks the same in every language, as does being pissed off or even content. Cheers to the artistic!

  • rod

    So maybe French is not your language and you might take to a different language much more easily. In the beginning stages, Spanish is easy to learn in the beginning stages. Right now I’m learning Swedish right now. The verbs are amazingly easy, but the prepositions are not – just as in English. Life is full of pleasure, right?

    • Everyrosehasathorn

      I have considered learning a different language but haven’t had the time. I am finding that I pick up a lot more french from watching french movies then I did in class though, so maybe I just dont’t learn language well from books?

  • captainjaq

    I live in a foreign country where the common tongue is not English. I’ve gotten very good at reading body language and rhythm so I can laugh at jokes and look appropriately sad when the occasion demands. It’s fun!

  • Russell Chapman

    If you really want to learn then you should go and do an intensive course in France, that way you will be forced to speak. If you cant do that, get some French online friends who will help you.

    I’m a bit crap at languages but I picked up Italian without doing lessons, it has taken a few years but I got there by speaking as much as I could, but then I live in the Italian speaking area of Switzerland so I kinda had to learn.

    • Everyrosehasathorn

      My family is actually from Noraway so I tried to learn the basics of Norweigan, we go to visit and what do you know, the dialect they use is so specific to the island that learned was useless! I love the unique culture of Europe, but would starve if I had to live there!

Leave a Reply

