SONNET 130 My…

shakespeare

SONNET 130

My mistress’ eyes are nothing like the sun;
Coral is far more red than her lips’ red;
If snow be white, why then her breasts are dun;
If hairs be wires, black wires grow on her head.
I have seen roses damask’d, red and white,
But no such roses see I in her cheeks;
And in some perfumes is there more delight
Than in the breath that from my mistress reeks.
I love to hear her speak, yet well I know
That music hath a far more pleasing sound;
I grant I never saw a goddess go;
My mistress, when she walks, treads on the ground:
And yet, by heaven, I think my love as rare
As any she belied with false compare.
-Shakespeare

I read so much Shakespeare when I was in high school, I was definitely in love with the idea of love, and his heroic love stories fed my fascinations. Romeo and Juliet was a tragic love story sure, but it was all about the most fantastic form of never-ending love right?

I have loved this particular sonnet since the first time I read it, saving it to memory with a fondness that rivals with few other things I have managed to remember over the years. It’s an intoxicating thought, for someone to be so deeply in love with someone who is far from beautiful, and yet the speaker is still enamored by everything about the person. A Few nights ago I was re-reading this and I realized I had Shakespeare wrong all along. He wrote not of beautiful love, or fantastical tragedy’s, but of the love that could never be. It’s commonly known that he is gay, so this only makes too much sense for him to have been so passionate about a subject few have managed to master since him. We don’t choose who we fall in love with, and unfortunately heartbreak is still a subject that we can understand after all this time. It’s a concept that transcends the generations and speaks to the soul, something I would be give anything to be able to do in my writing.

About Everyrosehasathorn

So I have finished my first book, Every Rose Has a Thorn, which is available on amazon for free if you have an amazon prime membership, or 2.99 otherwise. http://www.amazon.com/Every-Rose-Thorn-Sierra-Halnsoy-ebook/dp/B00EZ8I8VQ/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1406262459&sr=8-2&keywords=every+rose+has+a+thorn This is a book about Emily Rose who is drawn into a battle between angels that want to not only destroy the world and human race, but for some reason want her on their side when they do it! She must learn that doing what is right isn't always easy, especially when you fall in love with a very dangerous angel! View all posts by Everyrosehasathorn

6 responses to “SONNET 130 My…

  • mark

    I learnt this about 20 years ago and just realised that I still know it word for word. It is beautifully written. Thanks for reminding me of it and the chance to look at it in a different light….

    … I always suspected Shakespeare was happy.

    No more be grieved at that which thou hast done:
    Roses have thorns, and silver fountains mud:

    …Perhaps not.

  • Kate is

    It’s fascinating isn’t it. We have few things in common in terms with the way we live, with someone from the renaissance for instance, but we all know what heartache feels like.

  • Jason

    Just read my first Shakespeare on the weekend (midsummer night’s dream) & was totally captivated. May it be the first of many. Great post too 🙂

  • BookerTalk

    Its an interesting love poem – it breaks with all the conventions of the love sonnet and yet it works

  • charehney

    I’ve shared the WordPress Family Award with you. http://charehney.wordpress.com/

  • quigley2001

    6) Was Shakespeare gay?
    Shakespeare wrote 154 sonnets, apparently not intended for publication. The majority of these sonnets address the poet’s love for a young man. There is no historical evidence to indicate Shakespeare was bisexual or homosexual; he was a married man with three children. However, the poet’s intense romantic feelings for the young man in the sonnets have led some to believe Shakespeare was having a homosexual affair.

    But is the speaker of the sonnets expressing Shakespeare’s personal feelings? Does the young man belong solely to the realm of fantasy, as do Falstaff and the Three Witches? Since we do not know the answers, critics often choose to refer to the speaker of the sonnets as simply “the poet”, to illustrate that he is a character, and not necessarily William Shakespeare. For much more on this topic, please see the commentary for Sonnet 20 and Sonnet 75.

Leave a Reply

